Wednesday, April 13, 2022

My 10th Blogiversary

Oops! I missed my 10th blogiversary. It was actually on April 5th.

But in my defense, my mind was focused on traveling to attend my BYU-Idaho college graduation, which was held last week on April 7th. I'll share a blog post about that in the near future.

Wow! I can't believe it's already been ten years since I began this blog. I really haven't posted many blog posts since last year's blogiversary. Hopefully, that will change now that I've graduated from BYU-Idaho.


Thank you to my wonderful readers for taking the time to read my posts and for leaving comments over the years. I appreciate your support very much!


Here are my posts from the last year (since my last blogiversary)

My Updated Haplogroup - June 10, 2021

Found at Last: The Marriage Record of my Great-Grandparents - June 29, 2021

My Ancestors' Signatures - July 5, 2021

Little Alice Webster's Birth Record - July 13, 2021

Little Eugene Webster's Birth Record - November 7, 2021

Almost At The Finish Line - March 31, 2022

I Found My Dad in the 1950 US Census - April 3, 2022

Again, thank you for taking the time to read my posts!

Thanks for stopping by!


© 2022 Copyright by Jana Iverson Last, All Rights Reserved

Sunday, April 3, 2022

I Found My Dad in the 1950 US Census

The 1950 US Census was released two days ago on April 1st. Thank you to the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) for making this census available and for the ability to search the census. The search ability was made possible through optical character recognition (OCR) and artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning so the search function may not be accurate. I was able to find my dad, Jan A. Iverson, by searching for his stepfather, Wayne Crawford. 1

Here's the page of the 1950 census showing my dad living in the household of his stepfather, Wayne Crawford, and his mother, Ingrid. The family was living in Portland, Multnomah, Oregon. I highlighted my dad in a red box. My grandmother, Ingrid, was one of the people on this page who were asked additional questions. Her answers were included at the bottom of the page. They are also highlighted in a red box.

Here's a close-up of my dad's family:

Information about my dad:

Address: 6925 N. Amherst
Name: Jan A. Iverson
Relationship: Stepson
Race: W
Sex: M
Age: 14
Marital Status: Never married
Birthplace: California
What was this person doing most of last week? Other
Did this person do any work at all last week? No
Was this person looking for work? No
Does this person have a job or business? No

And here's the bottom of the census page with answers by my grandmother highlighted in red:

Additional information about my grandmother, Ingrid:

Was she living in the same house a year ago? Yes
Was she living on a farm a year ago? No
Was she living in this same county a year ago? Yes
What country were her father and mother born in? Father: Sweden, Mother: Sweden
What is the highest grade of school that she has attended? S2
Did she finish this grade? No
Has she attended school at any time since February 1st? 30 or over
Last year, in how many weeks did this person do any work at all, not counting work around the house: None
Income received by this person in 1949: None in each category

If I had not already known that Ingrid's parents were from Sweden, this additional information section would have given me that information. This section also provided information that she had lived at the same house and in the same county in 1949. It was also interesting to see the highest grade of school that she had attended. The code was S2 for her. At the bottom of the page the codes are explained. The code S2 was within the elementary school codes. I am surprised to learn that her highest grade level may have been second grade in elementary school. I have to wonder if that code was incorrect. Interestingly, in her vocal history Ingrid said, "mother did not start me in first grade until I was eight years old."2 And in her Book of Remembrance, Ingrid wrote that when she was fourteen years old her family sold their home in Salt Lake City and moved to Los Angeles, California due to the Depression.3 She also said, "I worked there at a home as a mothers helper" and that "because of finances" she and one of her sisters were not able to finish school. The family history memories that she wrote in her Book of Remembrance were written in cursive. Because of this, I believe she must have had more than a second-grade education. I am so thankful that she wrote about her life in this Book of Remembrance and that my dad interviewed her in 1977.

To search the 1950 US Census at NARA, click HERE.

Thanks for stopping by!


© 2022 Copyright by Jana Iverson Last, All Rights Reserved

1 1950 U.S. census, Multnomah Co., OR, Portland, ED 37-566, sheet 16, household 192, line 23, Jan A. Iverson; U.S. National Archives, _1950 Census_ ( : accessed 1 April 2022).

2 Crawford, Ingrid (Gillberg), Antioch, California. Interview by Jan Albert Iverson, 11 July 1977. Audio and transcript. Privately held by Jana Last, [ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE,] Clovis, California. 2022.

3 Crawford, Ingrid (Gillberg), Blue Book of Remembrance, Privately held by Jana Last, [ADDRESS FOR PRIVATE USE,] Clovis, California, 2022.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...