Research Toolbox - Updated 9/17/14

Updated September 17, 2014

Books and Libraries

  1. Higginson Book Company - http://www.higginsonbooks.com/
  2. Park Genealogical Books - http://www.parkbooks.com/index.html
  3. WorldCat - http://www.worldcat.org/
  4. Genealogy Book Links - http://www.genealogybooklinks.com/
  5. Bible Records Online - http://www.biblerecords.com/
  6. Genealogical.com ~ Genealogy Books, Genealogy CDs & Family History - http://www.genealogical.com/
  7. Library of Congress - http://www.loc.gov/index.html
  8. Digital Public Library of America - http://dp.la/
  9. Wabash Valley Visions & Voices Digital Memory Project - http://visions.indstate.edu/
  10. Open Library - http://openlibrary.org/
  11. The Waterman Family, Volume 1 by Donald Lines Jacobus - Volume 1
  12. The Waterman Family, Volume 2 by Donald Lines Jacobus - Volume 2
  13. The Waterman Family, Volume 3 by Donald Lines Jacobus - Volume 3


Calculators and Tools

  1. Calendar Converters - http://www.cyndislist.com/calendars
  2. TypeIt (accents and other characters) - http://www.typeit.org/
  3. Cousins and Relationships - http://www.cyndislist.com/cousins
  4. SnagIt Screen Capture - http://www.techsmith.com/snagit.html
  5. Google Translate - http://translate.google.com/
  6. Babelfish Translate - http://www.babelfish.com/
  7. Bing Translator - http://www.bing.com/translator/
  8. Linguee Translator - http://www.linguee.com/


Cemetery and Death Records

  1. Find A Grave - http://www.findagrave.com/
  2. Billion Graves - http://billiongraves.com/
  3. Names In Stone - http://www.namesinstone.com/
  4. Interment - http://www.interment.net/
  5. Legacy.com - http://www.legacy.com/NS/
  6. Online Searchable Death Indexes and Records - http://www.deathindexes.com/
  7. Tributes - http://www.tributes.com/
  8. US Military Grave Locator - http://gravelocator.cem.va.gov/j2ee/servlet/NGL_v1
  9. Ohio Gravestones - http://ohiogravestones.org/
  10. Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War National Graves Registration Database - http://www.suvcwdb.org/home/index.php
  11. Tombstone Inventory - Sweden - http://www.genealogi.se/gravproj/Gravsoklist.php?cmd=reset
  12. Gravestone Photographic Resource - http://www.gravestonephotos.com/index.php


Census

  1. Census Finder - http://www.censusfinder.com/index.htm


Family Tree Websites

  1. OneGreatFamily - http://www.onegreatfamily.com/Home.aspx
  2. My Trees - http://www.mytrees.com/
  3. My Heritage - http://www.myheritage.com/
  4. WikiTree - http://www.wikitree.com/

Genealogy Magazines

  1. Family Tree Magazine - http://familytreemagazine.com/
  2. Genealogy In Time Magazine - http://www.genealogyintime.com/
  3. Going In-Depth - http://www.theindepthgenealogist.com/?page_id=6086


General Research

  1. FamilySearch - https://familysearch.org/
  2. Ancestry - http://www.ancestry.com/
  3. Archives.com - http://www.archives.com/
  4. Cyndi's List - http://www.cyndislist.com/
  5. RootsWeb - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/
  6. US GenWeb - http://usgenweb.org/
  7. US GenWeb Archives - http://usgwarchives.org/index.htm
  8. World GenWeb - http://www.worldgenweb.org/
  9. National Archives (NARA) - http://www.archives.gov/
  10. Steve Morse One Step - http://stevemorse.org/
  11. Mocavo- http://www.mocavo.com/
  12. Google Blog Search - http://www.google.com/blogsearch
  13. DAR - http://services.dar.org/public/dar_research/search/?Tab_ID=0
  14. Internet Archive - http://archive.org/index.php
  15. ArchiveGrid - http://www.archivegrid.org/web/index.jsp
  16. Distant Cousin - http://distantcousin.com/
  17. Genealogy Today - http://www.genealogytoday.com/
  18. Heritage Quest - http://www.heritagequestonline.com/hqoweb/library/do/index
  19. Linkpendium - http://www.linkpendium.com/
  20. Genealogy.org - http://www.genealogy.org/
  21. BYU-Idaho Family History Special Collections - http://abish.byui.edu/specialCollections/famhist/index.cfm


Immigration

  1. Ellis Island - http://www.ellisisland.org/
  2. Castle Garden - http://www.castlegarden.org/
  3. Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild - http://www.immigrantships.net/
  4. The Ships List - http://www.theshipslist.com/


International Research

  1. The National Archives of Norway - http://www.arkivverket.no/eng
  2. Genline.com - Swedish Genealogy Online - http://www.genline.com/
  3. The National Archives of Ireland - http://www.genealogy.nationalarchives.ie/
  4. Mapping the Emerald Isle: a geo-genealogy of Irish Surnames - http://storymaps.esri.com/stories/ireland/
  5. Swedish Roots - http://www.genealogi.se/roots/
  6. Irish Archives Research - http://www.iar.ie/


Land Records

  1.  Bureau of Land Management - http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/


Maps, etc.

  1. What Was There? - Put history in its place! - http://www.whatwasthere.com/
  2. Google Maps - http://maps.google.com/
  3. David Rumsey Map Collection - http://www.davidrumsey.com/
  4. Old Maps Online - http://project.oldmapsonline.org/collections
  5. Atlas of Historical County Boundaries - The Newberry Library - http://publications.newberry.org/ahcbp/
  6. Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library - http://maps.bpl.org/
  7. Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection - http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/
  8. Open Street Map - http://www.openstreetmap.org/
  9. Free Map Tools - http://www.freemaptools.com/
  10. Uencounter.me - http://www.uencounter.me/
  11. Public Profiler World Names - http://worldnames.publicprofiler.org/Main.aspx
  12. History Pin - http://www.historypin.com/
  13. Historical Atlases and Maps of U.S. and States - http://www.mapofus.org/
  14. ACME Mapper - http://www.acme.com/mapper/


Military

  1. Fold 3 - http://www.fold3.com/
  2. Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System - http://www.civilwar.nps.gov/cwss/
  3. National Archives - Military Resources: American Revolution - http://www.archives.gov/research/military/american-revolution/index.html
  4. The American Revolutionary War - http://www.myrevolutionarywar.com/
  5. Family Tree Magazine - 10 Best Web Sites for Military Research - http://familytreemagazine.com/article/10-military-research-web-sites
  6. Harper's Weekly Original Civil War Newspapers - http://www.sonofthesouth.net/leefoundation/the-civil-war.htm
  7. US Military Grave Locator - http://gravelocator.cem.va.gov/j2ee/servlet/NGL_v1
  8. Battlefields of the Civil War - http://storymaps.esri.com/stories/civilwar/
  9. Timeline of the Revolutionary War - http://www.ushistory.org/declaration/revwartimeline.htm
  10. American Battle Monuments Commission - http://www.abmc.gov/home.php
  11. Mike Lynaugh's Virtual Civil War.com - http://www.mikelynaugh.com/VirtualCivilWar/index1024.htm
  12. Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War National Graves Registration Database - http://www.suvcwdb.org/home/index.php
  13. Register of Revolutionary War Records - https://dcms.lds.org/view/action/ieViewer.do?dps_pid=IE64205&vid=FHD&vid=FHD&dps_dvs=1367114817578~259&dps_pid=IE64205&change_lng=en
  14. Civil War Battle Summaries by State - http://www.nps.gov/hps/abpp/battles/bystate.htm
  15. The Photographic History of the Civil War - http://books.google.com/books?id=XX0KAQAAIAAJ&dq=photographic+history+of+the+civil+war+prisons&source=gbs_navlinks_s


Miscellaneous

  1. The American Influenza Epidemic of 1918: A Digital Encyclopedia - http://www.influenzaarchive.org/index.html
  2. The Guild of One-Name Studies - http://www.one-name.org/
  3. Early American Roads and Trails - http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~gentutor/trails.html#Valley
  4. American Migration Patterns - http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~gentutor/migration.html
  5. American Rivers and Waterways - http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~gentutor/rivers.html
  6. Locating Railroad Employee Records ~ Genealogy Today - http://www.genealogytoday.com/guide/railroad-employees.html
  7. GenDisasters - http://www3.gendisasters.com/
  8. Placeography - http://www.placeography.org/index.php/Main_Page
  9. DeadFred ~ Genealogy Photo Archive - http://deadfred.com/index.php
  10. Nineteenth Century Diseases - http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~memigrat/diseases.html
  11. GenealogyPlace.com - http://www.genealogyplace.com/
  12. United States Online Historical Directories - https://sites.google.com/site/onlinedirectorysite/Home/usa

Newspapers and Historical Documents

  1. Genealogy Bank - http://www.genealogybank.com/gbnk/
  2. Chronicling America - http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/
  3. Newspaper Archive - http://newspaperarchive.com/
  4. Obituary Links Page - http://www.obitlinkspage.com/
  5. California Digital Newspaper Collection - http://cdnc.ucr.edu/cdnc
  6. Fulton History - http://www.fultonhistory.com/
  7. Newspapers.com - http://www.newspapers.com/
  8. Historic Oregon Newspapers - http://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/
  9. Elephind.com - http://www.elephind.com/
  10. Newspaper Map - http://newspapermap.com/


Online Genealogy Education

  1. Legacy Family Tree Webinars - http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/webinars.asp
  2. SCGS Jamboree Extension Series Webinars - http://www.scgsgenealogy.com/webinar/overview.html
  3. NEHGS Online Seminars - http://www.americanancestors.org/online-seminars/
  4. Family Search Research Courses - https://familysearch.org/learningcenter/home.html#
  5. Illinois State Genealogical Society Webinars - http://ilgensoc.org/cpage.php?pt=227


Product Review Websites

  1. Top Ten Reviews - 2013 Genealogy Software - http://genealogy-software-review.toptenreviews.com/


Societies

  1. Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) - http://www.dar.org/
  2. Minnesota Genealogical Society - http://www.mngs.org/
  3. Minnesota Historical Society - http://www.mnhs.org/
  4. Wisconsin Historical Society - http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/
  5. New England Historic Genealogical Society - http://www.americanancestors.org/home.html
  6. Ohio Genealogical Society - http://www.ogs.org/
  7. Illinois State Historical Society - http://www.historyillinois.org/
  8. National Society Daughters of the Union 1861-1865 - http://www.nsdu.org/wc/default.asp?Info=791490112_1-Home--0


State and/or Locality Specific Research

  1. Genealogy Online - Historical Cook County, Illinois Vital Records -  http://www.cookcountygenealogy.com/Default.aspx
  2. Minnesota Genealogy - http://www.minnesota-genealogy.com/
  3. San Francisco Genealogy - http://www.sfgenealogy.com/
  4. West Virginia Division of Culture and History - http://www.wvculture.org/index.aspx
  5. Ohio Gazetteer - http://ohio.hometownlocator.com/
  6. US Cities & State Gazetteer - http://www.hometownlocator.com/
  7. Ohio Memory - http://www.ohiomemory.org/#ad-image-0


Vital Records

  1. World Vital Records - http://www.worldvitalrecords.com
  2. VitalChek - http://www.vitalchek.com/


© 2012 - 2014 Copyright by Jana Last, All Rights Reserved

No comments:

Post a Comment

Printfriendly

ShareThis

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...